Section Chairs

Section Chairs for the 2019 Conference

Section 1: Old English Language and Literature

Chair: Hans Sauer
Affiliation: University of Munich, Germany
Email: hanssauer@gmx.net
Co-chair: Michiko Ogura
Affiliation: Tokyo Woman’s Christian University, Japan
Email: ogura.dainagon@jcom.home.ne.jp
Co-chair: Rory McTurk
Affiliation: University of Leeds, UK
Email: rory@mcturk.org.uk

Section 2: Middle English Language and Literature

Chair: Jane Roberts
Affiliation: University of London, UK
Email: Jane.Roberts@kcl.ac.uk
Co-chair: Ad Putter
Affiliation: University of Bristol, UK
Email: a.d.putter@bristol.ac.uk
Co-chair: Lawrence Warner
Affiliation: King’s College London, UK
Email: lawrence.warner@kcl.ac.uk

Section 3: Early Renaissance Literature

Chair: Helen Ostovich
Affiliation: McMaster University, Canada
Email: ostovich@mcmaster.ca
Co-chair: Rosalind King
Affiliation: University of Southampton, UK
Email: r.king@soton.ac.uk

Section 4: Shakespeare

Chair: Krystyna Kujawinska
Affiliation: University of Łódź, Poland
Email: krystyna.kujawinska52@gmail.com
Co-chair: Grace Ioppolo
Affiliation: University of Reading, UK
Email: g.j.ioppolo@reading.ac.uk

Section 5: Late Renaissance and Milton

Chair: Donald R. Dickson
Affiliation: Texas A&M University, USA
Email: d-dickson@tamu.edu
Co-chair: Elizabeth Sauer
Affiliation: Brock University, Canada
Email: esauer@brocku.ca

Section 6: Long Eighteenth Century

Chair: Robert DeMaria Jr.
Affiliation: Vassar College, USA
Email: demaria@vassar.edu
Co-chair: Dorothee Birke
Affiliation: Innsbruck University 
Email: dorothee.birke@uibk.ac.at

Section 7: Romanticism

Chair: William Christie
Affiliation: Australian National University, Canberra, Australia
Email: william.christie@anu.edu.au
Co-chair: Jacek Wiśniewski
Affiliation: Wyższa Szkoła Psychologii Społecznej, Warsaw, Poland
Email: jwisniewski@uw.edu.pl

Section 8: Victorian Literature

Chair: Elisabeth Jay
Affiliation: Oxford Brookes University, UK
Email: ejjay@brookes.ac.uk
Co-Chair: Christine Alexander
Affiliation: University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia
Email: c.alexander@unsw.edu.au

Section 9: Early American Literature

Chair: Laura Stevens
Affiliation: University of Tulsa, USA
Email: laura-stevens@utulsa.edu
Co-chair: Joseph Kuhn
Affiliation: Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland
Email: kwieslaw@wa.amu.edu.pl

Section 10: American Literature after 1900

Chair: Aimee Pozorski
Affiliation: Connecticut State University, USA
Email: pozorskia@ccsu.edu
Co-chair: Dr. Gurumurthy Neelakantan
Affiliation: IIT Kanpur, India
Email: gn@iitk.ac.in

Section 11: Modern Literature

Chair: Theo D'haen
Affiliation: University of Leuven, Belgium
Email: theo.dhaen@kuleuven.be
Co-chair: Sabine Volk-Birke
Affiliation: Martin-Luther-University, Halle, Germany
Email: volk-birke@anglistik.uni-halle.de

Section 12: Literary Theory

Chair: Ingo Berensmeyer
Affiliation: University of Munich (LMU), Germany
Email: ingo.berensmeyer@anglistik.uni-muenchen.de
Co-chair: Danuta Fjellestad
Affiliation: University of Uppsala, Sweden
Email: danuta.fjellestad@engelska.uu.se

Section 13: History of English

Chair: Rafal Molencki
Affiliation: University of Silesia, Poland
Email: molencki@poczta.onet.pl
Co-chair: Philip Durkin
Affiliation: Oxford University Press, UK
Email: philip.durkin@oup.com

Section 14: Pragmatics

Chair: Andreas Jucker
Affiliation: University of Zurich, Switzerland
Email: ahjucker@es.uzh.ch
Co-chair: Anita Fetzer
Affiliation: University of Augsburg, Germany
Email: anita.fetzer@philhist.uni-augsburg.de

Section 15: Sociolinguistics and Dialectology

Chair: Manfred Krug
Affiliation: Bamberg University, Germany
Email: manfred.krug@uni-bamberg.de
Co-Chair: Marina Dossena
Affiliation: University of Bergamo, Italy
Email: marina.dossena@unibg.it

Section 16 (additional section): Bibliography and Textual Criticism

Chair: William Baker
Affiliation: Northern Illinois University
e-mail: wbaker@niu.edu
Co-Chair: Peter Walker 
Affiliation: Salem State University
Email: pwalker@salemstate.edu

Section 17 (additional section): Digital Humanities

Chair: Ray Siemens
Affiliation: University of Victoria
e-mail: siemens@uvic.ca
Co-Chair:  David Wrisley
Affiliation: New York University Abu Dhabi (UAE)
e-mail: djw12@nyu.edu.

Section 18 (special section): Selves and Identities in Polish and Transcultural Joseph Conrad

Chair: Wieslaw Krajka
Affiliation: Maria Curie-Skłodowska University, Lublin, Poland
Email: wieslaw.krajka@poczta.umcs.lublin.pl
Co-chair: Todd K. Bender
Affiliation: University of Wisconsin at Madison, USA
Email: tkbender@facstaff.wisc.edu

Section 19 (special section): Australian Literature

Chair: Robert Dixon
Affiliation: University of Sydney, Australia
Email: robert.dixon@sydney.edu.au
Co-chair: Ryszard Wolny
Affiliation: University of Opole, Poland
Email: rwolny@uni.opole.pl

Section 20 (special section): Contemporary Literatures in English

Chair: Chantal Zabus
Affiliation: Sorbonne, Paris III, France
Email: czabus@hotmail.com
Co-chair: Igor Maver
Affiliation: University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Email: igor.maver@guest.arnes.si

Section 21 (special section): Language and Complexity Theory

Chair: Bill Kretzschmar
Affiliation: University of Georgia, USA
Email: Kretzsch@uga.edu
Co-chair: Katarzyna Dziubalska-Kolaczyk
Affiliation: Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland
Email: dkasia@wa.amu.edu.pl

Section 22 (special section): Language and Cognition

Chair: Waldemar Skrzypczak
Affiliation: Nicolas Copernicus University, Toruń, Poland
Email: spaceout@uni.torun.pl
Co-chair: Hubert Cuckyens
Affiliation: University of Leuven, Belgium
Email: Hubert.Cuyckens@arts.kuleuven.be